Today is my granddaughter Kallun’s birthday.  As I think about her life and how much I wish I was with her to celebrate it I continue to mull over in my mind an article I read a week or so ago. 

An essay on CNN iReport, “Why I Raise My Children Without God,” This article posted on the CNN website caught my attention.  This article is a clear in your face statement “I have chosen my way and I dare you to suggest I should live otherwise.” If you read the article it is clear she is angry and thinks that we should be able to explain God and He should act on what we see. This article caused me to think about what others see and hear when they see and hear our message. The next day I was sadden even further when this article climbed toward the top of the list of news. This article sparked another article headline read, “Godless mom hits chord with parents” (January 18th) “Mitchell, a mother of two teenagers in Texas who feels “immersed in Christianity,” started a blog about raising her children without religion because she felt frustrated and marginalized. She didn’t want to feel so alone, she says.

Mitchell gained a whole new audience and the reassurance that she’s not alone. Her essay on CNN iReport, “Why I Raise My Children Without God,” drew 650,000 page views, the second highest for an iReport, and the most comments of any submission on the citizen.  I wondered why does she care if she is alone I thought that was her choice or outcome of her decision to live without God. The result of the article was shocking it drew the second highest page views for iReports history.

Mitchell’s blog and article are indicators of our society a line that has been hazy in the past is now being drawn in bold strokes. A huge push to move away from God, Godly principles, and morality is overtaking our country and world.

Another indicator television is on a quest for supernatural power programs casing programs of evil.  This fascination with power has a draw in which these programs are suggesting that we can use evil and make it good.

There are so many sad parts of this, first the quest for power is in all of us.  Yet I wonder why the fascination with power is so prevalent?

One, I believe at the very core is our need to experience supernatural power. I think this was created when God placed Adam and Eve on the earth. I also believe we have the ability to live and move in this power.

Two, supernatural power or the power of God should be something that is evident and active.  We as Christians have failed to pursue or move in that power. The enemy once again is trying to fill that hunger that is within us.

Three, this huge wave suggests to me that as evil arises, it is a sign that God also has plans to release new measures of power. What can the enemy do to compete with the power of God? He can release his own version, He desensitize us to supernatural power are two things that could be done.

As the time passes by we will continue to see evil rise, our choice will be what side of line we are on and how much power will we choose to live in?

